Less of me, more of YOU God!

I really struggled to wake up this morning and the attitude that became of me was bitterness. I wanted to sleep some more and our new puppy kept howling throughout the night so I didn’t have a restful sleep, I was bitter. The hubby told me to take him out for a walk; “he’s so energetic it will be good for him”. I was bitter again and said “what about me? I need the extra sleep”. It was a me me me attitude this morning and boy I was sure not looking hot in the eyes of my husband and especially the eyes of my God. 

So what did I do? I forced myself up and took our puppy for a walk, I muttered some more bitterness under my breath as I was walking around the neighborhood. Good thing no one was around or I would have looked like a fool talking to myself as I’m forcefully dragging my puppy along the sidewalk. As soon as I got back to the house I just took a deep breath and went inside. I knew instantly I needed to be in the presence of my God or this day will be a victory for Satan. 

I open up my Bible and my reading for today was on Luke 10:38-42

“Now it happened as they went that He entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.”

And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.”

Most of you know the story of Mary and Martha; two sisters who welcomed Jesus into their home. Mary was eager and sat with Jesus while Martha was so distracted with serving and making sure everything was perfect for Jesus.

Oh man if I had a sister that didn’t help me with serving and left me alone, I would be bitter. As soon as I read this passage I was like wow “I’m a Martha”. There are so many instances in my life where I worried about all my worldly issues, ran around to make sure things were perfect for a certain occasion or selfishly acted out in bitterness because I was doing all the work and no one was helping me. 

But this passage was HUGE eye opener for me. Jesus says to Martha “why are you worried and troubled of many things, but for the one thing needed Mary has chosen a good part, which will not be taken away from her”

How many of us are so excited for our quiet time? To just kneel before our maker, read His word and really quiet our hearts to listen to what He has to say. I know I’m not excited as I should be. Mary chose to sit before Jesus and listen to Him. She had an attitude of worship and meditation, listening with an open mind and having a heart for Jesus’ words. Isn’t that amazing? And the best part is, that time alone with Him will NEVER be taken away from her. That is the beauty of our relationship with Christ and something I am so thankful for daily because I am alive in Him. 

Do we have that attitude daily? If Jesus were to come into my home right now I would be Martha, scrambling to make a great meal and making sure He was absolutely comfortable. But all He wants is for me to stop what I’m doing, stop all the noise inside my head and just quiet my heart before Him, kneel before Him. With all excitement and eagerness and humility in my heart receive His word with an openness that cooking a meal or making Him feel comfortable would never fulfill. 

Friends, we need to be more like Mary and less like Martha. We need to “Be Still and know that HE IS GOD”. He will take care of all our needs and cast away our worries, bitterness and frustrations if we come to Him. Our prayer should be “less of me, more of you God”! 

Have a blessed day y’all!! 🙂 

Leave a comment